Dropshipping to the US only while living in the UK.

Highlighted
1 0 0

Hi all,

I'm new to dropshipping so I'm looking for some advice on selling to the US. I'm planning on selling from aliexpress directly to the USA by using the website I have created on shopify. I'm currently living in the UK and so I know I would be required to pay UK income tax however, that is unfortunately where my tax understanding ends.

I currently have a domain, a website, I know the products I want to sell and how I want to advertise my site/products. What I want to know is do I register as a company in the UK or the US? Do I charge VAT/(sales tax?) on the products for the UK or US? Do I have to pay US income tax? 

I have come across the term "economic nexus" whilst trying to understand how I begin my business but don't fully understand it.

Thanks to anyone that sees this and replies. If you need any more information or have any questions please fire away. 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
258 8 25

Hi @LGessentials! Gabby here from the Community Engagement team at Spocket.

It's been quite a while since you posted this so not sure if you were already able to figure this out. In any case, I did some research on the internet and according to most experts in the field, registration of a dropshipping business if you're just starting out isn't necessary. Registration is up to your discretion if you want to do a major expansion of your business and want to get certain benefits. Here's a thread I found on Quora that discusses this specifically: Do I need to register my dropshipping business as a company in the US, or in my home country?Similarly, on the topic of taxes, here's an article from our Spocket blog that expounds on this topic: How Dropshipping Affects Sales Tax.