How does charging taxes work?

Highlighted
1 0 0

I had my website set so that each product sold would have tax charges.. but I seemed to be getting none of that (tax charge money) after a sale.. (only shipping and product price.) My question is did I do something wrong or does Shopify handle paying taxes for you and that's why I was receiving no money? Im new to this sorry, and thank you! :)

0 Likes

Shopify only calculates the tax and collects on your behalf during the sale process, it's your responsibility to file and pay.

In your Shopify settings you have to turn on the sales tax collection feature for each of your known sales tax nexus liabilities.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
16 0 1

What if we do not have nexus in a state that we are shipping an item to? 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Each state has thresholds that must be met, once you've reached these, then you'll have to collect sales tax.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
16 0 1

Thank you for your response. 

If I was to purchase the item from a manufacturer using an exemption certificate, wouldn't tax be due somewhere by someone in instances like that where nexus has not been met. 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Yes when the item is sold to the final buyer sales tax is usually due, if thresholds have been met in the state.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
14 0 5

@eCommAccountant 
KS is the exception
Threshold: There is no exception for small sellers, so all remote sellers with sales in Kansas will meet economic nexus. *

*at last check

0 Likes
Highlighted

This all depends on who you talk to in Kansas. If you speak with their attorney Mark Cairdullo who heads the Kansas Dept of Revenue, your statement is correct. If you speak with Niomi or Loren in the Consumer Protection section of the Kansas Attorney Generals office, your statement is NOT correct.  Choose your poison...

https://fox4kc.com/2019/09/30/kansas-attorney-general-says-new-policy-for-taxing-online-sales-is-inv...

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
14 0 5