Making customers aware of import duties, customs Duty, VAT, and others

halolightco
3 0 2

Hi everyone, i'm relatively new to shopify.

I'm based in the UK and am planning on running a store dropshipping items from China to certain regions of the world.

I have a product, i have a supplier and i am happy with my purchase price and the shipping arrangement.

My cost including shipping is roughly £75 depending on destination country and i'm selling my product for £150.

My supplier is sending my product from china to the destination country via DHL Express with estimated delivery of 5-7 days to the countries i was looking at selling to.

in my learning it was recommended to look to dropship to 'The big 4': UK, USA, Canada & Australia.

not wanting to go live without having all the details to hand i have been doing my research and i have come across the Customs fees, Import Taxes, Handling Fees etc.

I understand each country has its own policies, trying to decipher this for the US and Canada seemed a bit tricky so put my attention to selling products to UK and Australia.

My understanding of these fees and taxes are that they are the responsibility of the buyer, in my situation the buyer is my customer and therefore if they order something from my store, it is imported to their country from china and they are expected to handle any fees that come their way as a result. Please correct me if i am wrong.

I do not want these charges to come as a surprise to my customer and am trying to find a solution to make them aware that these can apply, possibly give them an estimate for how much they will need to pay in their country.