No tax should be added when valid VAT ID for EU customers

Tourist
9 0 1

It is incredibly frustrating as I think we all likely agree that in many other areas Shopify is really very good. We are genuine fans of Shopify but this VAT issue has been an on going problem for us since the beginning. The only consolation for us is that more people are popping up saying the same thing - up until now we thought we were the only ones! Though we couldn't believe we were the only B2B Shopify merchant needing to implement EU VAT correctly! We've been working around the problem and at the moment our largest European distributor is on credit terms, so bypasses Shopify in any case. However, it has caused us a frustating amount of manual intervention.

I'm not an expert but I assume someone must be able to develop an app. that could deal with issue in the Shopping Cart even if Shopify are unwilling / unable to sort this out? However, in principle this is without question a fundamental requirement that should be dealt with by Shopify. Not making this aspect clear to customers and developers has evidently lead to a huge amount of wasted work and cost. Who would assume that an E-Commerce platform as large as Shopify didn't deal with this issue correctly!? Maybe send them an invoice for your wasted time and they'll take more notice!

0 Likes
Tourist
9 0 1

By the way - you can exempt customers from VAT based on their e-mail address. This may work for historical customers but it doesn't obviously help with new customers. In fact we have some customers who use two and three different e-mail addresses even though it's the same client.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
10 0 8

Hi guys,

many of you experience the same problem with EU VAT handling. Since Shopify still not has a proper solution for this, I decided to set up a petiotion. Maybe we can convince Shopify together. Let's unite!

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/shopify-eu-vat-exemption

#ShopifyVATexemption

0 Likes
11 0 0