Not charging taxes to everyone

Highlighted
1 0 0
Hello!

I just wanted to clarify for myself since I’m new to this thread. I do not have a brick and mortar and I run my entire business online. My sales are under $50,000/year since I am a small business. I currently am in Michigan and I charge MI sales tax for those purchases made online from people within my state. Obviously shopify doesn’t charge tax for my products when out of state purchases are made.
Do I even need to be taxing my items at all? Even within Michigan? From what I am understanding, because my business is all online and so small, I do not need to tax my items. I just wanted to check!
0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
20 0 11
Hi Kdriskell88
Your business still has nexus (a physical presence) within Michigan because that is where you as the owner of the business reside. Therefore the business is required to be registered for sales tax in Michigan.
Also the sales volume is irrelevant since physical nexus had been established.
Hope you find this helpful
0 Likes
Highlighted
5 0 0

I am in Missouri and this tax thing has fought me every step of the way regarding setup. I work from home and all sales are online. If I am understanding correctly, I will only charge sales tax to Missouri customers. All customers from states other than Missouri will not be charged sales tax nor will I include their sales on my Missouri Sales Tax form that I submit and pay. Am I correct in my understanding?  Also - Shopify is automatically charging city sales tax, however, I do not have to collect for my city as my physical residence/business is not in the city/unincorporated land. How can I not have the city tax in there? Thanks for any insight!

Rossann

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
20 0 11

Hi Rossann,