Request a refund on monthly basic plans

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hello, 

I've  just realised I only have to pay for 9 USD per  month under the "Pause and Build" plan,  while I'm stilling building my Shopify website. I didn't know that. I've been paying $58 for many months. 

Could I request a refund on this case ? I have been paying a lot of extra money but I haven't even launched my Shopify store yet. I'm desperate for help.

Really thank you !

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1220 120 308

Hey there, @janicewanyi 

Bo here from Shopify Suppor! 

Thank you for getting in touch regarding this, it is a very valid question. As per section 15.9 of our Terms of Service, it will not be possible to get a refund for the months that you spent on the plan for $58. This would be similar to a TV package service or a phone billing service therein we were providing you with the service that was requested regardless of what use was made of that service. I understand that this is not the answer you were hoping to hear today. If you have moved on to this pause and build plan shortly after paying your monthly invoice, the difference between the $58 and the $9 will be added to your account as subscription credit to help towards upcoming months. 

Was there any reason in particular that it is taking you this much time to get your store up and running and launched? I would love to provide support where possible to help you get the store launched as quickly as possible. I'd recommend taking a look at our YouTube channel as it is jam-packed with how-to guides that'll help you learn the ins and outs of the Shopify admin as quickly as possible. We also have the help center which is full of written guides on all things Shopify. I would also recommend checking out the Essential Shopify Launch Checklist prior to launching your store. 

I hope this response finds you well,

Bo

Bo - Social Care @ Shopify

Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know!