Shopify and QBO not syncing products correctly

Meghan_Clark
9 0 0

Hello, 

I have been using the Shopify created app for quickbooks for about 3 months now. At the end of each month, when I sync sales, I notice that my COGS number is way off. It seems to be because Shopify is adding the sales receipt but not removing the item from Quickbooks inventory. This sometimes happens correctly for one product on an invoice but not others.

I have also noticed that Shopify imports the product variable differently depending on whether the item was sold with the POS or online. (Product Title - Default Title from POS, Product Title from online). I've set it up to sync using product SKU but this does not seem to have corrected it. 

Any suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong are welcome! (I do ensure I've created the product title in Quickbooks exactly as it is in Shopify)

Thanks, 

Meghan

0 Likes
John_O
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
143 0 19

Hi Meghan,

Thanks for your post!

The Quickbooks app is built for sales so it exports your orders. 

Currently the app does not handle product inventory. Some other third party apps for QuickBooks do handle inventory however:

I'm not sure on the POS and online store differences. They should still export from your orders. How do they display differently?

You also have access to Quickbooks' support resources here http://intuit.me/1NfMcHb and the process for contacting them here http://bit.ly/1GnFZvI

I hope this of some help to you Meghan. Please let me know if you have any questions on the above or more details regarding your problem.

Thanks!

John :)

0 Likes
Meghan_Clark
9 0 0

Thank you for the response John. Let me see if I can explain the issue better.