Taxes Florida not Dropshipper

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hi.

I just opened my store. I used to be on Etsy and find myself a bit confused with the tax situation. I am not a dropshipper. I sell crafts. I don't have a brick and mortar store. I run everything from my house. This isn't my full time job as I am a teacher by day. I am a bit confused when collecting sales tax in Florida.  Do I collect from those who also live in Florida or anyone in the US? Also, in regards to a 1099, does that only come from shopify if you use shopify payments? Or does it also come from Paypal if you choose to use them? Thanks.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
678 50 152

Hi, @CurlyChicCrafts!

Julie here from Shopify Support.

First off, welcome to Shopify! I appreciate you sharing some information about your business and it's great to see that you're focusing on some important aspects, like sales tax.

Whether you should be charging customers taxes would be a question best answered by a local tax expert, as they are the most qualified to offer tax advice. That being said, you can actually set your Shopify store to automatically manage the tax rates you charge to your customers. When this is set up, customers will automatically be charged current sales tax rates based on where the product is being shipped from (Florida), as well as where the product is being shipped to. Because Florida is a destination state, the sales tax that's charged will be based on the customer's shipping address. To ensure that your tax settings are configured correctly, I recommend referring to our help doc on setting up US taxes, which will walk you through the process step by step.