Taxes/business license/etc.... Help please!

2 0 0

Hi everyone! Based on my questions, you will see that I am very new to the world of online business. I have researched, but continue to receive wishy-washy answers. I hope someone will be able to give me concrete feedback. I apologize for my novice questions, but I don't know where else to turn for answers at this point. I'll just start by saying I launched my site around the beginning of November. I dropship clothing through AliExpress (3 orders so far) and Modalyst (no orders from the latter yet). I'm based virtually in Tennessee. I've had 3 orders... one from TN, one from Denmark and one from Kansas.

1) Right now, in the Taxes Settings, TN is listed with the specific sales tax information. Although I have this information, my TN customer's order is showing that no taxes were paid. I'm so confused by this. The customer had a 10% discount coupon for being a first time customer. Did this coupon interfere somehow with taxes?

2) From what I understand, no sales tax is required by anyone buying from me outside of TN. So, this means I don't need to do anything else in the shipping/tax sections, correct?

3) I have only had three sales. Do I still need to get a business license and register in TN?  Right now, I am paying more to run my site and for apps/promotions. I am actually considering selling this site. So, I don't really want to fool with getting a license and then selling everything. If I HAD to register for one, how would I go about selling the site/doing income taxes on everything once it is sold?

4) Just a note- I don't want to hire an accountant because I am making nothing from this site as of yet. Everything made went into the cost of running and then I have more to pay. 

I'm sorry for how ignorant I am about all of this. I've done so much research with such little factual information provided, so I wanted to reach out to those who really know what they're talking about. Thanks in advance. 

0 Likes