Taxes

abeadaboveco
3 0 0

Hi there, 

I am very new to shopify and running a business. What does shopify do with the taxes they collect? What am I responsible for when filing state sales tax? I guess I'm just really lost on the tax portion of all of this. I live in Texas, not sure if that helps. I guess what I'm trying to find out is why do I pay the state when shopify takes out taxes and what does shopify do with that money? 

Thanks

Amanda 

0 Likes
Shaork
1 0 0

Hi there,

I have some taxes questions as well. I live in Taiwan and my questions are:

- Are income tax and sales tax all I have to deal with? And I need to pay both of them to my government?

- Do I have to fly to USA in order to have EIN or anything if I want to do business with US customers?

Thanks

Shao

0 Likes
Victor
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
770 66 191

Hi @abeadaboveco,

Thank you for reaching out with your question! Learning about your tax responsibilities can be a daunting task, especially when getting started, but I'll do my best to answer the questions you've posed and I will provide some resources that I believe will help.

Shopify does not collect or pay any taxes on your behalf. If you charge taxes on your products, this amount be will be processed and paid out to you by your payment gateway along with the cost of the product and any shipping charges the customer is due to pay. Neither Shopify nor your payment gateway will keep or reserve the sales tax on any order.