Honor System?

Xarzu
6 0 0

Since this is my first time setting up an electronic storefront, I am venturing into what seems like a new territory to me. So, I have lots of basic questions. Here is one. What is preventing a customer from claiming that he never got what he ordered, when he really did, and simply asking for another shipment again, thus cheating me?

0 Likes
Miles
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
477 68 118

Hi, @Xarzu!

I'm Miles from the Social Care team at Shopify. How exciting that you're setting up your first store online! Have you sold in person before, or are you new to being a business owner?

If a customer claims they have no received their items, they may contact you or raise something called a chargeback. I'll walk you through what to do in each scenario and also give you some tips to help avoid fraudulent orders on your site.

When a customer places an order using Shopify Payments, we run an automatic risk assessment which you can view right inside the order. This assessment is a great way to gauge whether a customer is a low, medium or high risk. If they do pose a risk, you're able to contact them to confirm their order and details before making a decision on whether you would like to fulfill the order or not. The analysis looks like this:

You can learn more about the risk assessment in this guide.

If you have fulfilled an order and shipped it off, you may receive a chargeback. When a customer has an issue with a charge on their credit card, they can contact their bank to dispute the charge. The bank then makes a chargeback or inquiry. The customer can be one of your customers or someone who believes that their card was used on your store without their permission. If the customer's bank makes a chargeback, then the bank takes the disputed amount from you right away. The cardholder's bank also takes a chargeback fee from you. If the customer's bank makes an inquiry, then they don't take the disputed amount or a fee right away.