How Can I change my product's content ID on Shopify?

Highlighted
New Member
2 0 0

Hi there!

I wanna run Facebook Dynamic Ads and have set up the product catalogue by using Flexify. However, I do have some products with different versions (e.g. size, colour) yet all have the same "content ID" in the data feed and catalogue. How can I change a product's content ID within Shopify?

Thanks!
pascal

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
304 8 54

Good question, I have a client with a similar issue where the content id supplied in the Facebook pixel, does not match the id supplied in the data feed.

You need to contact your data feed supplier to make sure the product id's are unique per product (including variants), and that they match up with the pixel code.

 

I solved this issue by changing the data feed product id's, well actually I kept the original feed for Google Shopping, and then created a new feed for Facebook, so that we can match up the id's.

 

Hope this helps.

 

I'm a Google Shopping Specialist & a Google Ads Gold Product Expert - Specialized Data Feed Management Tool (DIY/Managed)
0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
8 0 1

Hi there, I have the same problem but only with some products. How can I fix it please? I'm using Facebook Product Feed (by Flexify) to upload all products.

 

Does it mean I need to re-install the pixel? Can I somehow change the ID in the catalog to match? I didn't follow exactly how you explained it.

 

Thank you for your help.

Regards

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
304 8 54

If you use Shopify to install the tracking code, it will only display the main product id ie the parent id. So when you setup the feed you need to make sure you have the id's as per how shopify set it.

 

Contact your feed supplier for assistance in getting this updated. Don't forget that if you have 1 feed connected to multiple channels, ie Google and Facebook that changing the id's will result in lost data and ranking in Google. So you need to make sure you are using a unique feed just for Facebook.

 

Hope this helps.

I'm a Google Shopping Specialist & a Google Ads Gold Product Expert - Specialized Data Feed Management Tool (DIY/Managed)
0 Likes
Highlighted

Hello everyone from whom such a question has arisen and you are looking for how to solve it.

My name is Romchy, I am with the support of Shopify Product-Feed ‑ Facebook Google

 

The product identifier does not need to be created separately. You need to immediately use the application in which by default there is a function that allows you to create a file with a directory in which there are all products.

 

There is a function in the Shopify Product-Feed application that helps you create and upload individual products with different versions (for example, size, color), and they will all be with different “content identifiers”.

 

Here you will find all the step-by-step instructions for using the Shopify Product-Feed application:
 
 

__________________________________________________________________________

★ Did my post help? If yes, then please like and accept solution. ★


romchy | Application consultant
Feed Product


→ Ask to launch an effective advertising campaign @ Write to WhatsApp 
→ Get Free Guides for Store Sync @ Shopify Feed Product Help Center

→ or Video Help Center Shopify Feed Product
→ Want to get new features? Add Feed product app to your store @ Add app Feed product

 

 

 

 

 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 3

I'm also having this problem just sometimes, and it seems to be related to what is selling. I only have one of each variant, so when a variant sells, it is out of stock. I have to do a cleanup of the out of stock items daily, for other reasons. I have my Facebook Catalog set to update hourly from the feed, but the feed can only update once daily (automatically) from the website. So I think at times the feed/catalog still contains items that are missing in the Pixel? Could that cause this type of error for some of us?

0 Likes