Question for Shopify Experts: Your client asks for SEO. What do you do?

Highlighted
Shopify Expert
540 24 113

I'm a Shopify Expert with a focus on the German market (including Austria and Switzerland) helping mostly first-time ecommerce entrepreneurs set up their first online store. Besides the usual stuff that comes with setting up a Shopify store for clients, one thing that comes up time and time again is SEO. Potential and existing clients come to me and ask me to "SEO their store". Like I just wave a magic SEO wand and they show up in Google somehow.

I have a basic understanding of SEO, but I'm by no means an expert, nor do I want to be. I usually tell clients there are on-page factors that they can basically take care of by using their relevant keywords in page titles and content and linking their store internally well. Most if not all themes from the Theme Store are well-structured for on-page SEO as far as I can tell, so all you really need to do in that regard is a) know what your potential customers are searching for and b) use relevant keywords in your hopefully readworthy content.

The other part of the equation is off-page SEO, which I usually tell clients is a long-term effort that involves many different things from link building to PR, social media, etc. I don't really want to get involved in this too much, so I keep it simple. And so far I've never sent a client a quote for SEO "stuff".

I'm curious as to how other Shopify Experts handle this. And not just the dedicated SEO Experts. I'm sure all Experts get these questions from clients and I'm also pretty sure that not all of us are actual SEO experts.

So how do you handle this? Do you have partners you work with you refer your clients to? Are you considering expanding your portfolio to SEO services? Do you offer SEO services alongside your main services? Do you offer ongoing SEO for a monthly fee?

★ ThemeUp: Nifty Upgrades for your Shopify Store ★ https://themeup.net
3 Likes
Highlighted