SEO and product description

Solved
ppt9355
Tourist
8 0 0

I am very new to Shopify..... I am trying to understand if i should hire someone to create my job descriptions to include SEO. Not sure if this is how SEO is included.  My descriptions need to be cleaned up and want to make sure i include SEO if that is the write step or do i hire someone to do my marketing and they will take care of SEO.  Just unsure of the process.

0 Likes
Cal
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
984 103 166

Hey @!

Cal here from Shopify, thanks for reaching out to us.

This is a great question, and SEO is so important for the long-term health of any business. Being able to attract traffic organically is such an asset to any business, and it's great that you are looking to start this process early, as it is a marathon and not a sprint, and can take six months to a year to see real results. 

We have some great tips on how you might improve your site's SEO here. These are the fundamentals, and you should have a good grasp of how you can continually build on this work. I'd suggest you do all of these yourself, as you will need to do them repeatedly, like submit your sitemap when you update your site. 

If you're not sure what keywords your customers are going to look for, then this should be the next thing your research. We have some really great in-depth (and slightly more advanced) guides on SEO here. These posts go beyond the basics and really deepen your understanding of SEO. 

If you do opt to hire an Expert to work on your SEO, I'd suggest going to them with the basics done, so they don't charge you to set those up, and they can focus on the nitty-gritty, next level SEO that will have customers finding your store organically. 

Have you considered starting a blog to accompany your online store? 

Cal | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution