SEO needs major help

tmarks
3 0 0

So I just took over marketing for our store. We started using Shopify about two or three years ago and as I have started picking up where our last marketing coordinator left off, I discovered that our website is no where on Google results searching just our name. Obviously that is a problem.

So my question really is, what can I do for our weebsite that has been established for a couple of years now to boost our ranking and build a solid SEO platform? I am still learning how to use a lot of the software and backdoor parts of shopify, so it helps a tone if reccomendations are pretty specific. Thanks y'all! 

0 Likes
Mel_O1
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
208 0 31

Hi, Tmarks!

I’m Melissa, a Shopify Guru. Thanks for reaching out. As we are unable to see the site, I will offer some SEO guidance to get you started in relation to Shopify. :-)

• Check that you have the most recent sitemap submitted to Google so that it can crawl the site to be visible and listed. so it would be to check that the domain is verified with this guide and then to submit the new sitemap here.
  • Make sure all product images are optimized so that Google will be able to read and crawl the images to help in relation to SEO. You can edit this in the product here https://screenshot.click/_10-02-5nrml-2hpfj.jpg that will then create a pop up where you can edit the ALT text
  • In the product section, you can also optimize and Edit the copy to help with SEO. At the end of the page on your product page, you will see 'Edit SEO' and can make the changes there.

Here are some helpful blog posts to help you in getting you SEO strategy started:

E-commerce setup checklist 
5 Ways to Optimize Ecommerce Product Pages 
Video: Ecommerce SEO 101