Thank you page and facebook conversion ads

1 0 0

I'm diving into facebook conversion ads. At least what I have read up so far and understand that I don't pay facebook until a user hits a page that I set up with them, like the user has to buy the product before I pay facebook for the impression/conversion? Anyway I was reading that I can set up the thank you page which the customer will be redirected after they made a purchase and it's been confirmed? If this is true. Where would the redirection thank you page url be so I can use that to fill in the facebook conversion ad?

Not sure if I am making sense since I've never done this before?

0 Likes
Highlighted

Hey @arcane !

That's not correct. You do pay Facebook for the ad impressions even if someone does not buy your product. 

The fact that you select as an optimization event the conversion/purchase means that Facebook will serve the ad to users that most likely will be interested to buy your product, not that you'll pay Facebook only when people buy. 

As for the tracking of the purchase, all you have to do is add your Facebook pixel id into your Shopify store which you'll find at online store - preferences. Please see the image attached.

Screenshot 2019-07-17 at 19.13.53.png

Hope this helps,

Cheers,

Panos 

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
37 1 5

Hi @arcane !

My name is Lilith, I'm on the Social Care team at Shopify.

Looks like @Panos_Tzitzinos  sent a perfect reply. I wanted to let you know that if you are just getting started on Facebook ads, there are some great

resources to help you out. Below are some of the places I'd recommend starting off to learn more about Facebook ads and how to best approach them based on your business.

Both of those resources have been helpful for many beginners. I also wanted to send some quick tips as well from experience.

Tip #1