What are some good tips on saving money on Google AdWords?

Highlighted
Tourist
17 0 2

Is it also normal to be losing some money in the beginning of campaigns while gathering data for optimal performance later down the road?  If you are using Google AdWords or you've had success with it in the past, how long were you letting your campaigns mature for before you started seeing results you were happy or content with?  

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
10 0 3

Hey Vince, 

I actually do digital marketing for a living, but just came across your post, and just wanted to give you a little bit of insight. 

I am not sure how familiar you are with AdWords, but AdWords can get out of control fast. I always recommend starting off with a small, highly relevant group of keywords even though traffic on that small set of terms might be low. Exact match keywords and Broad Match Modifier are definitely the way to go when you're first launching. This will only trigger search queries that match your actual keywords. Broad match is just that. Very broad. It can bring in a lot of irrelevant traffic, and waste a lot of your money. Using the most relevant group of terms will also give you a higher quality score, which in turn will lower your average cost per click.

I could rant about this all day, but hope that was at least a little helpful. 

Good luck!

1 Like
Highlighted
Tourist
17 0 2

Thank you Noah!  Very helpful!  I appreciate the response.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Vince, if you're adament on managing your AdWords yourself, you should at minimum get AdWords qualified (fundamentals, search, and shopping). This will open your eyes to what you at least should be doing as a minimum. If you're not willing to do that, an expert can apply the same concepts and more to your campaigns.

Run Google Shopping ads? Get the free definitive guide to Google Shopping for Shopify (no optin required): https://www.digitaldarts.com.au/google-shopping
0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
4 0 1