What is driving actual targeted traffic for you?

Highlighted
Tourist
52 0 1

I've had a few Shopify stores and I've been working in digital marketing for many years so I'm pretty familiar with the landscape and the options but this time, something is very different. In years gone by stores that I've run, as well as others would get a minimum traffic volume even if you did absolutely nothing. My latest store, which is admittedly in the ultra competitive young women's clothing vertical is getting no where, despite a very good amount of time, effort and money. 

A couple of things. 

1. It's a drop ship model so I can't do anything about the quality of the images. I know they aren't incredible but that has nothing to do with traffic. It does limit me in some other areas though. Before we get fixated on that, this is fast fashion, which means that things sell out quickly and don't come back so going all in on photography when I have literally a handful of units is pointless. 
  2. I can get into great detail about what I've done. Assume I tried everything and it all equally returned zero value. I can get into specifics if you want to know but here are the basics. Very limited test of paid advertising in Adwords, Facebook&Instagram and Pinterest. Used the big social media channels, almost zero traction or traffic. Instagram is talked about a lot as being the key to driving traffic. It did nothing for me. Did a lot with Reddit. Zero. Basically did everything that everyone seems to think is the key and got nothing. The one big one I have left out is SEO. It's a ton of time or money (paying someone else) and especially with Shopify, it doesn't seem to be worth it.