What is your average marketing spent?

Highlighted
5 0 0

Hi guys,

Trying to learn a bit more about the marketing spent on your sites and where (which sites) you spend it.

I run a small business with no sales yet and would love to learn more about what I would need in order to make my business succesful.

My service focuses on providing educational services to latin american individuals hoping to study in the US.  As a result it would be tough to hire influencers or utilize pictorial places such as instagram or pinterest to get traffic.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff (Retired)
Shopify Staff (Retired)
60 0 11

Hello Alcibiades,

Rob here with the Shopify Guru team.  I'll chime in first though I'm sure you'll have plenty of other advice. I am a business owner as well and trying to figure out this question myself.  I think the cost of marketing really is dependent on your niche and your store itself.  In fact, in some instances I don't believe putting money into marketing is not necessarily the right move.  

Here are a few things I recommend:

* Forge some good cross-promotion opportunities with other shops

* Facebook is a fantastic way to connect with customers and really expand your brand and drive traffic into your store.  Facebook Ads is a consideration but not necessary as it is paid advertising and I think nowadays there are so many free outlets for advertising with Social Media

* In my experience, Google Adwords: https://docs.shopify.com/manual/apps/apps-by-shopify/google-shopping/adwords is a great advertising option and if you plan on paying money.  I've seen it show you significant growth in traffic to many sites.  I used this early on in my shop and I saw Traffic spike signficiantly and almost immediately.