My store, https://myDoll.house is recently launched. I sell a unique product designed and developed by me.
My Google Merchant Account is suspended (and has been since I first applied for it about 3 weeks ago). I have done a ton of reading and have invested a lot of time learning, making changes to my account and website etc etc all to no avail. I have requested 2 more reviews after making changes each time and have remained suspended. (note: from what I have read I am not alone in being suspended with no understanding of why, ~ apparently they changed some of their requirements back in July or August).
The third and most recent request for a review of my account was by a Google ads team member; he liked my product, spent a good while going over a proposal for running ads on Google and growing my business, and seemed quite sure he could get the GMC approved. No such luck. The most recent rejection (copying me and him) reads in part:
"TL:dr: Your Merchant Center account X does not comply with the Shopping ads policy: Misrepresentation of self or product (Untrustworthy promotions). Unable to reinstate.
Query: Google Merchant Center disabled due to violation of Shopping ads policy,
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, but unfortunately we will not be able to reinstate this account and the current status of the products and the account may be beyond fix. Google’s primary objective is to provide safe, relevant experiences for our users. The decision to suspend your account was made after careful review of your account and the low quality landing page experiences promoted through your website. We won't be able to provide you with any further details regarding the suspension of the account."
(the helpful ads team member has not responded to any more of my emails since this happened.)
I am an honest individual selling an honest product on a site I built to the best of my ability in a straightforward manner on Shopify. I am a single mom, unemployed due to the pandemic and I do not have the resources to invest in hiring someone to fix this (vendors who work with this sort of thing say they may not be able to fix it anyway). From what I have read here, 'low quality landing page experiences' means slow site speed (my site is slow but again, I do not have the resources to hire a developer to address this).
I am posting this question to the community boards because 1. I remain modestly hopeful there may be a solution 2. I think it is atrocious and monopolistic that Google can single-handedly derail the attempts of a small business to get started AND provide NO customer support AND say "We won't be able to provide you with any further details regarding the suspension of the account." !! I for one find this response unacceptable.
Shopify support says they cannot influence Google in this regard - which I am sure is true. But I hope someone higher up at Shopify may read this. They would do well to realize that if an honest individual (such as myself) selling an honest and unique product can effectively be squashed for 'no reason known', then what will this mean in the long run for the Shopify model?? I for one will need to shut down my store should I fail to be approved by Google (how can a company possibly succeed without approval of the monopoly Google??)
Thank you for reading my original post. With Google commanding 86.86% (www.statista.com) to 92.71% (gs.statcounter.com) of the search market share, not being able to be included or promoted through their search engine is a massive and likely untenable blow.
If anyone has input for me about what Grave Error I have made that has led to my account being suspended I would be most grateful. I am a Human, not a statistic or an algorithm. For god's sake - I sell dollhouses!
As an update, the nice Human ads account strategist did in fact get back to me and now the rejection / reply cites a different violation:
"Thank you for getting back to us.
Google doesn't want users to feel misled by the content promoted in Shopping ads, and that means being upfront, honest, and providing them with the information that they need to make informed decisions. For this reason we don’t allow the following:
- Promotions that prompt users to initiate a purchase, download, or other commitment without first providing all relevant information and obtaining the user’s explicit consent
- Promotions that represent you or your products in a way that is not accurate, realistic, and truthful
(Poor landing page experience (above reply) OR shopping ad lack of transparency? (note: I have never run an ad! what are they talking about?? Which is it??)
Is the last line of their reply a joke??
I am sorry that I do not have a solution, but am posting because I am in an identical situation, with the same email responses, and I have attempted many solutions with no avail. I am still attempting to make changes with hopes to get past these issues, and will be happy to follow up if there if I do solve the problem. I hope you will do the same! One thing I did notice right away on your site, that has been repeated to me a number of times is to have your contact information directly on your main landing pages, preferably in the footer or header. Although this alone didn't solve my problem, I have heard it often enough that I think it probably would be a reason for google to reject a store.
I totally get the pain you are going through with Google Merchant account being suspended, however I would suggest you go over your landing page to see if it complies with Google policies before asking for another review of your website.
I would not mind helping you go over your website speed to see what can be improved.
Before you ask for another review I would also suggest I check your GMC account, as I am a certified Google Ads Specialist.
Hope to hear from you soon.
I have absolutely exact same issue with absolutely exact same response from Google. My situation is identical to yours - I sell products that I make myself, except for one small difference - my site and my GM were up and running for a year with no issues up until when two weeks ago I hired the company called "Get More Traffic" to manage my Google ads account. I have no idea if that caused the issue, bit I'm guessing because I have had no ads on Google before, their algorithm wasn't "interested in me" so to say. To top it all up, in my case they disabled my account right in the middle of Christmas holiday break, which means I can't even get in touch with anyone to try and find out what the issue is. My emails to Google team have all come back with the exact same reply as you posted before.
If someone could please explain what to do and how a person with no specific knowledge of codes and algorithms like myself can "go over my landing page" - I mean what exactly I'd be looking for??
And yes, I managed to get in touch with someone from Google merchant over a chat and she assured me that the problem is that my "contact us" form does not contain my email and phone number (even though they are clearly displayed in my website footer). I mean whaaaat??? Who makes these stupid rules??? Anyhow, I fixed this issue immediately, I put in my phone number and email (even though it looks pretty damn stupid on a contact form), and requested review. The next day they suspend my Google Ads account and disable completely my Google merchant account.
Can someone here please explain what's actually going on with Google and how does this comply with the Australian consumer law? I mean, if I own an account and am paying for it, how can they not tell my on what grounds my account is being penalised?
Also I'd like to know if this is going to affect my Google ratings and my organic search on Google. I understand, they only disabled GMA, which means I can't post paid ads on Google, but is it also going to harm my organic search results?
Do you have a skype. I would like you to look at my website for an issues as I am also experiencing problems. Been with google many many years.
promotions that prompt users to initiate a purchase, download, or other commitment without first providing all relevant information and obtaining the user’s explicit consent
promotions that represent you or your products in a way that is not accurate, realistic, and truthful.