End of free trial

Solved
MM98
New Member
3 0 0

Hi

Quick question, for how long is our domain/website kept for after our free trial? Please assist urgently.  

0 Likes
Bo
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1670 173 480

This is an accepted solution.

Hey there, @MM98 

 

Bo here from Shopify Support! 

 

Welcome to that platform, that is a really great question. When your free trial ends your account is frozen until a plan is chosen. The myshopify.com domain is kept indefinitely. You can continue with your store with that domain at any time. As for the website itself, we cannot guarantee that all of your work will remain saved after 30 days of the account being frozen. 

 

If you are planning on continuing with Shopify I'd recommend taking a look at our Shopify webinars. These short tutorials take you through all the basics of creating a store such as adding products, variants, collections, theme changes and pointing a domain to your store. You should be able to sign up here. We also have a free business course with our Shopify Academy that I would really encourage you to look at if you get a chance.

 

All the Best,

Bo

Bo | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Sue52641
New Member
3 0 0
I would like to cancel my store and my free trial. Can you help me with that?
0 Likes
Sue52641
New Member
3 0 0
I do not want a Shopify store please cancel my account.
0 Likes
Sue52641
New Member
3 0 0
No you were not helpful. Can you cancel my account please!
0 Likes
Bo
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1670 173 480

Hey there, @Sue52641 

 

Canceling your account is not something that our support team can do on your behalf, you can, however, close it yourself. If you have any third-party apps that have your payment information outside of Shopify, then cancel your service with those apps to avoid being billed externally after you close your store.

 

  • If you have a custom domain that you bought through Shopify, then you can transfer it to another provider.
  • If you have a custom domain that you bought through a third-party, then you can remove it from your store in the admin. If you don't remove your domain from your Shopify store before closing it, then you might not be able to use it for another website.
  • If you plan to close your store and move your domain to a new platform, then be aware that Shopify's HTTP Strict Transfer Security (HSTS) will remain in effect on your domain for 90 days after you close your store to help ensure the safety of your and your customers' information.

Steps:

  1. Log in as the store owner.
  2. From your Shopify admin, click Settings, and then click Plan and permissions or Account.
  3. In the Store status section, click Sell or close store.
  4. Click Close store.
  5. Enter your password to continue.
  6. At this point, you can contact Shopify to see if there is anything we can do to help. If you're sure that you want to close your store, then select a reason from the drop-down menu and then click Close store.
  7. To confirm that your store is closed, you can go to your store's URL and see that your store no longer appears.

If you choose to re-open your store within 30 days of closing it, then Shopify guarantees that all of your store's data and configuration information will be preserved. Shopify can't guarantee that any data will be preserved more than 30 days after closing your store.

 

All the Best,

Bo

 

Bo | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes