Feedback on an artist's website/shop?

Highlighted
2 0 1

Hi everyone!  I'm an artist who has just moved my site/ shop over to Shopify.  I am having some trouble making conversions- both sign ups to my mailing list (with the current pop up set up - I did a contest giveaway recently and got lots of sign ups, but am not sure if they are people who are legitimately interested in my work yet), and in terms of sales. I would greatly appreciate a critique of my site - JenniferAkkermans.com

I'm curious as to any issues you might see with my site- anything that turns you off, is not clear or might be a potential problem.  Please be honest - I can't fix something I don't know is a problem.

In the hopes that a few people might look it over and tell me where it could use some work, I will go review a couple of other sites in this forum, as a way of putting in some feedback and good vibes to hopefully get some in return. 

Thanks so much!

1 Like
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
253 24 101

Hi Jen, 

I like your art pieces, however, I am afraid the store is not making justice to it. The site does not quite look like you are offering art, it is plain and "cold". I would expect seeing some colors, welcoming atmosphere and high resolution images. Here are some tips of how you can make your site more welcoming and take advantage of your niche

1) Change the default colors of Debut theme and adjust them to your logo color scheme instead. 

2) On the hero banner, I recommend using not only house images, but the clothing prints that you create as well. Make sure the pictures are taken by professionals and are high resolution. 

3) The sign on the Request yours today section is too bulky and does not quite resonate with the art. Go with more delicate words and make accent on the photos instead. 

Also add more functionality to your site by: