Google search listing

thebluehound
Excursionist
39 0 8

Hi All,  I will start this by saying I am not tech savvy so please keep this in mind if answering.  I've had a shopify store for a few years now.  I've not really googled my shop, but did the other day.  The listing shows but the description pulled is a repeat of a tag line on my home page.  How do I 'guide' google to different text?  Or change the text? Or submit text to them?  I have google analytics, have submitted a site map and have the analytics code attached to my shopify settings.

Screen Shot 2021-03-11 at 11.43.34 AM.png

Suggestions welcomed!

Thanks, Joe

0 Likes
MS-WEB-DESIGNER
Shopify Partner
2818 176 474

Dear @thebluehound 

Change title and description. Submit it through Google search console.

Ava
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
893 57 135

Hey, @thebluehound!

I'm Ava from the Community Forums, I can provide some more direction here! As @MS-WEB-DESIGNER mentioned above, the meta description for your store will need to be updated and a sitemap will need to be submitted in order for what you see on a Google search to be changed. I can walk you through the process in more detail!

To change the meta description, you can go to the admin and select Online Store > Preferences. After that, you can add your store name as the Homepage Title, and a short description of your business as the meta description. It's best to keep things as short and descriptive as possible here - the more informative Google thinks your description is, the more it will think customers will benefit from visiting your site. There is a guide here on writing a meta description that drives sales!

14-48-fu44u-qnfxo