Solved

How does one build a new theme to support the new sections architecture?

monkmedia
Visitor
1 0 0

Hello

I am new to building Shopify themes. I would like to build a theme that is uploadable through the admin UI, however the docs are confusing me.

I have created a developer preview store, however I don't know where to start with building a new theme from scratch ( or from a boilerplate).

I was directed to the Slate repo but apparently this is no longer being supported due to the new sections architecture (https://shopify.dev/docs/themes/sections).

My question is, how do I go about developing a new theme to support the new sections architecture? Is there a boilerplate/repository/example code I can look at online? I have seen the liquid tags but I would like to set up a full dev workflow for compiling etc. as well as work locally.

Thank you for your help

Accepted Solution (1)

Liam
Shopify Staff
2731 298 769

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @monkmedia 

Thanks for getting in touch and great to hear you've been exploring the options with the new sections architecture and the developer preview. Currently the best option for building your own theme based on the new theme structure is to explore the sections-compatible version on Debut, which you can download here, and use this as a basis for your own project. You can reverse engineer this Debut theme, or build on top of it, as the new theme directories (/content, /page, and /frame) are populated with sections that currently work with the developer preview store.  

At the moment we don't yet have a bare bones theme for testing, or a guide for building a theme from scratch using the new sections architecture, but we will be expanding our developer resources in the coming months to provide documentation and support when building themes using this new structure. 

Hope this helps,

Liam Griffin

Shopify | Developer Community Manager

Liam | Developer Advocate @ Shopify