Why is my Shopify speed score low and how can I improve it?

Canvas_supply
Visitor
1 0 0

Hey guys I'm new to shopify and I'm trying to figure out why my speed score is so slow! Currently its at 34 and I was wondering if you had any tips i can use to improve it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Oh an my website name is www.canvas-supply.com

Replies 3 (3)

kprimdal
Excursionist
21 0 6

Here are just a few notes:

• Try to look at your apps, a few of them is including som really big javascript files on your page
    • Privy
    • Judge.me
    • smile.io
    • Sales Pop up
    • Of cause I can't decide if you need them all, I can just see they are Javascript heavy, and maybe another theme that had more of this included would help. But also a lot of work.
  • Also, your site is loading Recaptcha which is not needed on the front page
  • On your front page, it seems like your Instagram images are loaded a bit too fast. If you have some options try to lazy load them. On top of that, it also seems like the images are too large.
Creator of the blazing fast Shopify theme Air Theme One
https://airthemeone.com

JoesIdeas
Shopify Expert
2195 201 588

With the Shopify speed score tool, 34 is a good store if you have a thriving site with store facing apps. I did an analysis of this tool + compared stores and scores, plus give some tips to improve the score here: https://speedboostr.com/shopify-speed-tool.

If you're looking to optimize your site, check the Shopify Analyzer tool. That will give you a quick view of what can / should be optimized + how to fix it. It's a tool my team built free for the Shopify community, so if you need any help with it or optimizing just contact us (or read the linked guides from the results, they're all free).

• Creator of Order Automator (automate tagging, fulfillment, Amazon, notifications + more)
• Shopify developer for 10+ years, store owner for 7 years