Can I offer local pick up or personal delivery?

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hello all,

I am a ceramic artist who works from a home based studio in Germany. I do not have a physical store where customers can come and view products and make purchases nor do I have my products stored at multiple locations.

All my products for sale are kept in my studio and will be available to purchase online only.

I only want to use the shopify platform for offering local pick up (customer comes to my studio to collect product once payment is received) or personal delivery (I will deliver the item for a small fee).

I read the pages online for eligibility to offer local pick up and to be honest, I am confused by what I read.

This is the link:

https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/shipping/setting-up-and-managing-your-shipping/local-methods/loca...

It says this:

Eligibility

To use the local pickup option, your store needs to meet the following requirements:

So, I emailed shopify support and received a confusing email from one of the support staff members. The information above seemed to contradict the email, so I am none the wiser.

I have twenty of fewer locations. I have just one location, so it appears I meet that eligibility requirement.

then next it says I need to enable multiple location Inventory and multi origin Shipping.

i have no idea what this means as this isn’t relevant to my business. Can someone please explain if I just need to ‘enable’ the function but not necessarily use that function or offer that service? Confusing.

I was linked to several apps by the shopify staff member which if I’m honest, actually annoys me abit.

offering local pick up or delivery honestly isn’t hard to do, so I shouldn’t need to pay an additional fee per month plus add one more app to my ever growing list. 

can someone pls confirm for me if I am able to offer local pick up OR delivery (not shipping) for each product I list on my store.