Can shopify only use Paypal for Payment?

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hi, i'm new in shopify and want to learn about the whole payment setting.

Can i just setting only paypal (Paypal Express Checkout) for my shop?

I'm playing with my trial right now, and want to test payment for paypal, and i got this pop-up message :

asd.jpg

is that possible if i'm not use or input Credit Cards in shopify?

I want to launch and select plan, but i'm very struggling in this step.

Thank you.

0 Likes
Highlighted
2 0 1

Hi Ceresax,

You can use only PayPal as the payment gateway on either the Basic Shopify, Shopify and Advanced Shopify plans. The fees charged will be 2%, 1% and 0.5% respectively on top of any fees charged by PayPal. Once you have chosen your plan and entered your credit card that error will go away. On the Lite plan or the trial you use Shopify's payment gateway.

1 Like
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
239 9 49

Hi, @ceresax.

Morgan here fro the Social Team at Shopify.

Thanks for reaching out, and for including a screenshot. To answer your main question: Yes, you can absolutely just use PayPal as the gateway for your shop. The reason you are seeing this error is because the checkout can't be enabled until a plan is selected. This is so we know exactly what features you need to start selling. If you are still just testing things out, that's not a problem because if you choose a plan during your trial you aren't committed to anything or charged until the trial is over.

In terms of the best gateway option for your business, PayPal is a great option for customers and seller security. As well, it's a household/ recognized name which will build trust with your customers. Depending on where you are located however, I would also enable a traditional credit card gateway. I advise this because not all shoppers know you can checkout on PayPal without a PayPal account, and may be deterred if they think they need to create a PayPal account to checkout, if they don't already have one.