DISCOUNT CODE NOT WORKING

Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 2

Hello,

I am just starting out with Shopify and I opened my shop yesterday. I created a code "FREEBIE" for my customers to use to get a free item... if they buy X they get Y. I noticed nobody was using it, so I went and test it and it isn't working! I have tried tweaking it multiple times and it still isn't working. I literally have no idea what to do to make it different. It's a one time use, one per customer, anyone can use it and it supposed to work as long as they buy one of my shirts.

Screen Shot 2020-03-22 at 9.21.06 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-03-22 at 9.21.19 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-03-22 at 9.21.29 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-03-22 at 9.21.37 AM.png

Thank you!!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 2

I've figured it out, never mind. Thanks!

0 Likes
Highlighted
1 0 0

Hi, can I ask what you did to figure this out? we're having the same issues.

Thank you

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
3 0 2
Hi,

It turns out you need to add the other product to your cart as well for the
code to work. So if you are offering Y product for free if they buy X
product, the customer has to add Y product to their cart as well as X
product for the code to work.

That is the only way I managed to get it to working properly. Very
confusing and annoying.
2 Likes
Highlighted
1 0 0

I have had the same issue and you have answered my questions.  This is not good and i have no way of communicating this to the new customers trying to use my code.  There really needs to be a way that it is automatically added to the cart.  

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
26 1 19

I am sorry but that looks like a bug on side of Shopify that needs to be fixed ASAP. The title of the current implementation of ”Buy X and get Y” is just misleading. A better title would be: "Buy X and Y and then get Y".