Is there a return management system that deals with handling the physical product?

Highlighted
2 0 0

I'm new to Shopify and I'm hoping to launch my Shopify retail store soon. I'm a digital nomad and I don't have a physical address anywhere as I'm constantly traveling around. I am not sure how to deal with returns as I don't have a location that customers can send returns to. Is there an app that both helps to manage returns and also deals with the physical returns? If there's not an app that does this, what are my other options here? I definitely want to include a return policy on my site but am stuck on how to deal with the return process. Please advise!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Explorer
54 0 46

katroc,

There are a number of ways to handle returns, but the most basic (and free) way to handle it is to have customers email you with their requests. As long as you don't have many returns, that's very manageable and you can do things exactly the way you want to. The customer writes, you reply using a canned response, they send back the merchandise, you issue a refund or exchange the product. Other than the having an address to which they're supposed to return the merchandise, you are able to do everything else yourself remotely.

Do you have a home base of any type? Do you receive mail anywhere? Is there someone who can say, "Hey, you got a package back from this person," so you can issue the refund to that person? That's really all you need. Not knowing what you sell or the potential number of returns you may receive it's hard to answer the question beyond that, but if you're like most stores and receive only the occasional return, you should be able to do that. If you have sufficient volume that you may receive many, many refunds, then that's obviously different.

I don't know if this is a common enough situation for a specific service to exist—sort of the reverse of a drop shipper—but if there is a need, someone will fill it.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff