Limit Number of Gift Cards at Checkout

Highlighted
3 0 0

Hey all, I am a developer working with a client using Shopify Plus. Right now we are looking to limit the amount of gift cards used at checkout, to only 3 per transaction. Not up for much discussion on that, that is just how it has to be. 

I have done whatever google searches I can to help me out along with reading all the related documentation I can find. Has anyone had success with limited the amount of gift cards a user can use during payment?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
253 1 25

Hi there!

My name is John and I'm a Guru here at Shopify!

Thanks for taking the time to post your query here on our merchant forums.

This might be possible on Shopify Plus by using a specific script to control the number of gift cards used here.

You could have your client contact their MSM to work with our Plus team on creating and implementing a script to put this in place.

If you'd like, you or your client can email into support@shopify.com from an email address on the Plus account so we can look into this for you.

If you pop the ticket number for your contact into a reply here I could even grab it from the queue for you and have this investigated and escalated as appropriate. :)

Best of luck with everything here! 

Regards,
John

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
10006 116 1818

I realise you've said that the limit is not up for much discussion, but limiting gift card usage could have some serious legal implications. Stopping a customer from using a gift card could be very well be illegal in your region. You will want to be very sure that you're not putting your client at risk.

Since this is a Plus merchant you will have access to checkout.liquid. The checkout object has properties like this:

https://help.shopify.com/themes/liquid/objects/checkout#checkout-applied_gift_cards