New set up. Do dropshippers wait for the cust payment to hit their own bank acct to fulfill?

3 0 0

Do I have to fulfill to get the cust payment released from Shopify? Or can I wait for the cust payment to hit mt bank acct & then fulfill? The latter is what I am assuming most drop shippers do. I know this is a basic noob question but I am just starting out. Thanks

-Dan

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
496 13 114

Hey, Dan!

Aria here, I'm on the Social Care team at Shopify.

If you're using Shopify Payments, there is normally no relation between your payout date (which varies by country) and the date you fulfil the order. It will simply be paid out to your bank account a certain number of days after your customer pays. This guide has details on how long it takes for each country. The day it is paid out may not be the same day it reaches your bank account. This can also vary, depending on the processing times of the bank you use.

That being said, if you are not fulfilling your orders straight away, you will be at a higher risk of chargebacks. For this reason, our Payments team may put your payouts on hold until you start fulfilling on time. It's good practise to fulfil your orders on the same day your customer paid for it, or the next working day if they placed their order late at night. Keep in mind, dropshipping normally involves long shipping times so it's not a good idea to keep your customer waiting even longer.

Most dropshippers order from their suppliers using their own credit card as soon as the order is placed by the customer. The supplier can then ship the orders straight away and they receive their payout a couple of days later.

If you are not using Shopify Payments, I recommend you reach out to your payment gateway with questions about your payout schedule as it may be different from the above.