Partner Payouts only via PayPal - Does this mean we incur yet another fee?

ErickLuis
Tourist
4 0 1

TransferWise would be good for partners from other countries too

PayPal is a rip-off. I was using TranfserWise, but now PayPal started charging a 3% fee for money transfer to a bank account in USD even if there is no currency exchange.

I'm a software engineer. I make things happen automatically.
0 Likes
kelseyjudson
Shopify Partner
35 1 16

Yeah, this is pretty clearly PayPal's response to people using TransferWise for this to get around their exorbitant fees. They dress it up as necessary to support their 'innovative' (?) development. Then why does it only apply to people without a US account (but still a US bank account)? Because they're worried about missing out on their hidden currency exchange fee. Every payout now until Shopify comes to the rescue is money lost and I'm feeling pretty bitter about being forced to hand over money to a company I despise and have no choice about using.

LukeG
Excursionist
20 1 10

Common Shopify, we need more payout options.

Honestly I would even register a company in Canada if that would mean you guys/girls could payout to a bank account.

PayPal is getting ridiculous with their fees and the USD dropping in value since May 20' does not help with this either

Kind regards,

Lukas

initjsk
Tourist
4 0 7

@Nick 

I cannot emphasize enough, how much Shopify needs to find a solution for this. If not direct bank transfer, then at least add the option to use Transferwise.

Every Shopify partner (with less than $30k MRR) outside of North America is currently being ripped off by PayPal for 3% of their revenue for a service that the bank or Transferwise provides virtually for free.

It is really dissatisfying to see this thread having been open for almost 2½ years with absolutely no progress. We pay 20% of our revenue to Shopify, and you thank us by forcing an expensive payment service down our throat.