Process for customer returns

Highlighted
Tourist
4 0 1

Hi everyone, I'm new to Shopify and I'm getting ready to launch my site in mid-July.  I have a question about how the customer return process works. I've read the available info on Shopify but my specific question is, how does the customer start the return process on their end? Do your customers email you and then you manually start the return process? Or is there a plugin that you need in order to automate the process?

Please let me know if you have any suggestions for me.

Thanks!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
407 39 113

Hi @ecr250,

Thank you for getting in touch, and it's good that you're thinking about this before you launch! Are you shipping and fulfilling your own orders, or is a third party doing this on your behalf (e.g. if you're dropshipping or using a third-party fulfilment service)?

The first thing you'll want to do is ensure you have a contact page that clearly details how you can be contacted, ensuring that customers can reach out to you if they do indeed wish to initiate a return/ exchange. If the customer wants to exchange an item—perhaps it was the wrong size, or they decided they wanted a different product from your store—you can process that via your Shopify admin, which we have a guide for here