Regional Support: Payments (India)

Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
833 53 139

Hi, @vssc 

When you cancelled the order via Shopify, did you see the option to refund? When cancelling and refunding orders, you should do so within the Shopify admin, and not the gateway directly. 

We have a helpful guide which provides the steps to cancel and refund orders here. 

If you have already issued a refund through the gateway, I would recommend checking with Razorpay to see if there is a possibility to refund the customer twice. Typically, this cannot occur; however, if you want the order to reflect the refund in Shopify you will need to refund the order within Shopify. 

I'm sorry to hear that you have found this process confusing, I'd be happy to pass any additional feedback you have along to our developers. 

Let me know if this helps! Happy to answer any other questions you have in regards to payments.

Elle | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member
9 0 0

Hi Elle,

Thanks - there was no option for refund - Razorpay is linked as an Alternative Payment Service. So's my second gateway - PayU

I had created 2 orders - One (paid via Razorpay) I cancelled after creation, and one (paid via PayU) I 'Returned' after marking as fulfilled. Now, the two cancelled / returned orders in Shopify show 0.00, but the Dashboard has an incorrect sales figure (includes the cancelled and returned orders) and shows returns as 0 (please note that one order I had marked as returned and restocked). 

Also, Razorpay says that all refunds have to be carried out via their panel.

Going forward, does this mean that I'll never have accurate sales information as Shopify will continue to include even cancelled and returned sales in the Dashboard?

I've gone through the help docs, but the returns and refunds process is just confusing.  

Shopify support also seems non-existent (at least in India) - There's no phone support, no reply to a ticket I created, and after holding on chat for over half an hour, I'm connected to a staff member who eventually tells me they need time for a 'deep dive' to figure out why the Dashboard is still showing incorrect figures. 

Have other issues too (for example, one design issue is that there's no way to hide out-of-stock variants from filtered searches. Of course, that's not a payments issue so have posted in the design section. 

But for now, how on earth do I get my Dashboard to reflect actual sales figures?

Thanks

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member
9 0 0

Since there is no response from, Shopify support, what do I do?  The total sales are still being shown incorrectly in Home, the Dashboard, and even the Sales Reports -  the figure includes orders that have been cancelled  returned.

 

Dashboard.jpgDashboard 2.jpgOrders 2.jpg

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
833 53 139

Thanks for those details, @vssc 

I do apologize for all the trouble you're having with our support and this issue at hand. 

I'm afraid that at this time, some gateways that integrate with Shopify (such as Razorpay) do not currently offer support for refunds in our admin. This means that despite refunding an order within the gateway, the analytics (and orders) within your admin will not reflect the refund. 

I completely understand that this is not ideal, and our developers are aware of this as well. 

I will continue to advocate for all gateways to provide support for refunds. For now, the best workaround I can offer is to export your orders, and manually adjust totals for cancelled orders within a spreadsheet. Of course, you can utilize another gateway that supports refunds inside of the admin. 

If you have any other gateways in mind, I can confirm for you whether or not they support refunds. 


Elle | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member
9 0 0

Hi Elle, Thanks.

"I'm afraid that at this time, some gateways that integrate with Shopify (such as Razorpay) do not currently offer support for refunds in our admin. This means that despite refunding an order within the gateway, the analytics (and orders) within your admin will not reflect the refund. "

- So you're saying that the analytics and dashboard are useless if we use external gateways? Why not warn people in advance?

- Is there any way of getting actual accurate reports now or do we just deal with this incorrect data till we're sure of investing in a move to a more capable platform (one that doesn't ask for $5 a month for basic features)

- Since I have processed the refund via Razorpay, why not let me manually mark the orders ? If your developers are aware, it shouldn't be an issue

- The orders page shows 0.00. Why does the Dashboard not reflect that? If you can make the orders show 0.00, I'm sure you can also make the Dashboard reflect that?

- Is there any reason for this absolutely asinine design choice? 

- Do I get a part refund now that the analytics bit of Shopify is absolutely useless?  Everything from Average Order Value to Conversion Rate will be off?

- I'm repeating this, but is there any reason why we can't mark out / leave out / filter out cancelled orders?  So now it's too late?

 

 

 

0 Likes
Highlighted
New Member
9 0 0

Hi - Is there any payments gateway for India which lets you accurately track refunds, cancellations and returns?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
833 53 139

Hi, @vssc 

There are some external gateways which do offer support for refunds. You can see all gateways available to merchants residing in India here. If you'd like to utilize another gateway which offers support for refunds, let me know and I will provide you with a list. I agree it would be helpful if this information was noted up front on the payment gateway page, so I've let the team know who handles updates on these pages.

Currently, orders cannot be modified to show a refunded status as the gateway does not pass this information back to Shopify. This is simply not a feature that has been integrated into our platform. The feedback we continue to receive will help change this! 

Notes within the order timeline can be utilized to reflect the order has been refunded; however, reports will remain inaccurate as the refunds cannot be processed within the admin. You can export your orders and leave the cancelled ones out of the export to view order totals. 

We do not offer refunds or discounts for our service. Our developers are aware of many feature requests, brought forth by merchants all over the world. Every day we release new features and product updates, based on the feedback we receive. I trust in the future all payment providers that integrate with Shopify will offer support for refunds within Shopify directly. 

Elle | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
833 53 139

@vssc 

Just seeing your latest post! 

I will look into this for you today and get back to you ASAP with a list of gateways which support refunds within Shopify. 

Elle | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
833 53 139

Hi, @vssc 

Thanks for your patience while I looked into different gateways for you!

Here are the credit card gateways available to you in India which currently support refunds inside of our admin: 

* PayPal Payflow 
* CashFree

I hope this helps! 

Elle | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

1 Like
Highlighted
New Member
9 0 0

Hi Elle. Thanks. Have signed up for Cashfree. Will try that out! Edit: One query though: Is the 2% payment fee mentioned in the payment settings page on top of what an integrated gateway charges?

cheers

0 Likes