Russian scam orders getting very clever and costing big $$$$ in chargebacks

Christopher_Ode
Shopify Partner
13 0 3

The methods of the Russian scam orders are becoming very advanced. We have some that ship to the US, even with niormal llookingh address now and sometimes even matching billing and shipping info with proper ceredit card info as well. Is anyone else experiancing this and the related chargebacks? I use Subuno which usually flags them but if we stopped all orders that looked this legit we'd have other issues.

0 Likes
Don
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1388 92 190

Hi there Christopher!

Don here from Shopify. :)

Sorry to hear you've been having some issues with fraud in your store.

It does sound from what you have said like this is a bit more complex than some other types of fraud, but hopefully, we can give you more info and tools to handle this.

In case you haven't already, check out our guide to Fraud Prevention.

There are a few different methods you can use on there so hopefully one or more of them will be something you can add to your fraud checks.

We've also got our free Fraud Filter app which expands on the existing risk detection tools in the admin.

You mentioned you were using Subuno already, I'm not familiar with that service but we do have apps available in our app store that provide fraud protection that you can check out.

Signifyd is probably the most well-known of these apps, though I can see there is NoFraud Fraud Prevention as well now so you have some options.

Would you be using Shopify Payments and is your store based in the USA by any chance?

If so, you can check out Fraud Protection for Shopify Payments.

If you're using any third-party gateway or your store is not based in the US, this would not be available; though you can definitely contact your gateway company to see if they offer any sort of protection or filtering for this.

I trust some of these tools and methods will be useful in trying to tackle the issues you have had with some of your orders.

We're also available 24/7 via our support site if there's anything else we can help out with. :)

All the best!

Regards,
Don

Don | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Christopher_Ode
Shopify Partner
13 0 3

Thanks Don,

 

Yes I am in the US but had to move to Paypal for payments as I sell hemp protien powder which somehow Stripe (Shopify Payments) classified as a psuedo pharmicutical and can't be sold through them, go firgure. Thanks for thge tips, hadn't seen nofruad yet for one. I'mn wondering if I'm specifically being targeted somehow and why, we get so much of this and it's hard to beleive it's not happening to other merchants out here so I do hope others chime in with thier solutions.

 

Thanks again.

0 Likes
royalbloke
New Member
2 0 0

Good morning all Shopify stores

 

For the past 2 days I have been getting a transaction for a Anton Ermachkov with a Moscow billing address and a shipping address to 510 Carroll Drive in New Castle, DE 19720 - this is an industrial building. They also use another address in New Castle DE which is also an industrial building 600 Centerpoint Blvd Qwintry Ste 117801, New Castle DE 19720

 

 

0 Likes