Shipping Costs from China

Highlighted
2 0 0

Hi

I'm new to shopfy and can't wait to get started!  Can anyone help with this:-

I'm going to be selling items to USA and UK customers that are supplied from dropshippers in China.

Question 1: How do I work out what the shipping costs should be in advance
Question 2: What's the best shipping calculator app to upload to the store

Many thanks in advance for your help guys.

Andrew

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
239 9 49

Hi, Andrew. 
My name is Morgan, I'm part of the Social Media team here at Shopify. 

Great questions! In terms of drop shipping and charging shipping to your customers, it may depend on how you are dropshipping and through which fulfilment service.

However, in most cases, such as Aliexpres, Oberlo, Prinful ect. the shipping will either be free or charged to you when you complete the order with your supplier. Meaning, merchants will usually choose a basic price based rate to cover any costs to them. ie. your customers could all pay $6 shipping for all but free shipping over $80.  (as an example)

Do note though, that shipping is usually included in the price if you are using Oberlo, so offering that free shipping to your customers may help with conversions! 

If you do end up going with a shipping charge you won't necessarily need an app or carrier calculated rates enabled, as your address is not accurate with the address the products are being shipped from, thus creating inaccurate shipping estimates anyways. This is why if you do decide to charge shipping I recommend just a flat rate for all customers. 

Here's also a guide that goes over how to create flat rates once you are ready to implement these into your store! 

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any follow up questions at all. 

Cheers,
Morgan F 

Morgan | Social Care @ Shopify
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution