Shipping Nightmare

Highlighted
Tourist
17 0 2

Hello,

I have been working on my new website now for a few months and up until this point it has gone really well. I am stoked at how it looks, but then came shipping and I'm loosing sleep as I cant launch the site because the shipping just does not work.

This post is to ask for help in making it work, and see if you have encountered similar problems, and if so, how did you rectify it?

Firstly I am based in the UK and I ship to all countries except Russia.

I make custom bespoke products (lamps. furniture, wallpaper) and also sell smaller items (t-shirts, prints, art)

If you would like visual ref, my current soon to be gone website is: www.evilrobotdesigns.com

Now, shipping from the uk to say USA, or Europe is expensive. A lamp to USA could cost up to £130 and to Europe around £85. On the other end of the scale a T-shirt would cost around £6 to USA and about £4 to Europe. So I have a huge amount of variants to contend with.

So I decided to get carrier calculated shipping with FedEd for international orders. The problem? Shopify ONLY deal in weight or price. This means that when the calculator sends info to FedEx, it purely sends the weight, not the box dimension. This means the rate is always WAY off and I would always loose money, every sale.

The box dimensions for a lamp are always 40 x 40 x 60 cm. But the dimensions for say a table vary depending on the design, size etc. So this causes huge issues as the weight of say a table could be 4kg but the package could be huge and need to be calculated based on size NOT just weight.