Shipping rates based on weight and price

Highlighted
Tourist
5 0 8

Hi,

I am quite new to Shopify but we have been very happy with it so far. One issue we have is with the manual shipping rates. I have checked the forum and not found a similar issue from another member.

We offer free delivery on most orders over £100, except for larger items which require pallet delivery. At the moment we have all of our shipping rates based on weight with the exception of the free shipping rate which is obviously based on price. What our customers are doing is selecting the free shipping option for the larger items which require pallet shipping, which we charge £50 for.

What we require is a shipping rate based on both price and weight so we can offer free shipping for orders over £100 on items weighing up to a certain weight.

Is this possible without using third party calculated rates?

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3395 252 612

Hi there, 

Nick here from Shopify. 

Welcome and great to hear things are going well so far with your store, very good question also. 

I did some digging for you on this and I can confirm that with a manual shipping rate it can only be set either by weight or price and not both combined, unfortunately. I did some tests to see if I could make it work but to no avail.

There is, however, a workaround for this which could be the solution for you. I'm not sure how often you are expecting an order for the products with this particular weight and price range, but one way around it could be through creating a draft order.