Shopify not allowing me to add Canada Post or USPS

Bambatt
Tourist
19 0 2

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to Shopify and have been struggling to figure out how to add trackable shipping to my orders.  I've read online that all accounts come with the ability to add either Canada Post or USPS although when I try, it is saying that my 'current plan doesn't offer this feature'. I am on the basic plan and understand that this does not include the ability to add accounts like DHL and UPS but am I wrong in hearing that the others were a default?

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes
HariKrishna
Shopify Partner
657 15 70

Hi,

If you are trying to add your own carrier account, you have to enable carrier calculated shipping in your store, which doesn't come with the Basic Shopify plan. 

You can have the basic plan and pay an add-on of $20 USD for third-party calculated shipping while paying for both monthly. Or you can switch to annual billing and get that add-on for free while saving $36 USD. You can also get this feature for free if you update your plan to Advanced Shopify. 

Customer Success @ PluginHive
Shipping Automation | FedEx shipping | Multi-carrier shipping | Shipment Tracking | Australia Post shipping
0 Likes
Julie
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1103 105 275

Hi @Bambatt!

Julie here from Shopify Support. 

@HariKrishna is correct — if you have your own carrier account with either USPS, Canada Post, UPS, or FedEx, then you can connect your account to Shopify if you have Carrier Calculated Shipping enabled. This will allow you to display your own negotiated rates to customers in the checkout. Carrier Calculated Shipping is a feature that's typically available on the Advanced plan, but you can also add it to any plan for an additional $20 USD per month. As mentioned above, it's also free if you switch to an annual billing cycle.