Shopify payments for USA LLC but non USA resident?

bestz9
1 0 0

Hello, 

I am a resident of the United Kingdom, and a citizen of Germany.
Both these countries support Shopify payments and I'm a director of a USA LLC to run my Online business. 

Will it be possible to open a Shopify account and start accepting payments through Shopify Payments
with our USA LLC but without a Social Security Number? Since I am (the director of the USA LLC) a resident of the United Kingdom
 I do not have an American SSN. 
But since he is a resident and citizen of two countries where Shopify payment
is available, will we be able to use Shopify payments to accept incoming transactions on our Shopify store? 

0 Likes
Peter
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
1993 147 424

Hey, @bestz9

We can review, and provide Shopify Payments for a different region on a case by case basis; however, we have very strict and specific requirements that must be met to review the request. To use Shopify Payments US instead of the UK you will need all of the following:

• Government-issued photo ID (driver's license, passport, etc. - non-US ID may be accepted)
  • A Tax ID in the United States:
    1. EIN if you are an LLC/Corp
    2. SSN you are a Sole Proprietor
  • Business registration document (Registered in the US with the government)
  • Proof that the business is actually operating from the US. This can include tracking showing you are shipping from the US or proof of a physical US address (not a forwarding address).
  • A USD checking account opened with a real US banking institution, located on US soil. Virtual banks and currency services will not work for this, it has to be a real US bank