Should I cancel this order?

Tourist
4 0 0

The billing address is in the United States but the shipping address is in Indonesia. The names of both persons are different and I got no reply from either one after waiting a day. This is my first time seeing something like this and I was wondering if I should fulfill it.

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
119 12 25

Hi @Imphie,

Thank you for reaching out and for explaining your situation. I cannot tell you definitively whether you should fulfil this order or not, but there's a few things you can consider before making that decision.

First of all, have you taken a look at the risk analysis for the order? The different billing and shipping addresses could be a potential indicator, but is there anything else mentioned here? One thing I will say is that the billing and shipping addresses being in different countries is certainly suspicious, and could indicate fraud (although there is a chance that there's a perfectly reasonable explanation for it as well). You definitely made the right choice in reaching out to both persons to ask for validation, as quite often illegitimate customers will not respond to any questioning they receive.

The decision on whether to fulfil the order ultimately comes down to you and whether you are happy to take that risk. If you fulfil the order and it turns out to be fraudulent, you will likely receive a chargeback from the cardholder's bank and might well end up without the product(s) and the funds. For this reason, I usually recommend that you cancel and refund an order if you are not sure about it, and would say this is especially wise to do if the customer has not responded to any of your correspondence.