Solutions against claims from customers when using Canada Post !

Highlighted
18 0 0

HELP !  I am located in Canada and use Canada Post for standard shipping.   I have just had my first claim dispute with Paypal from a customer that said he did not receive his package.  Paypal has requested a tracking number and that I prove that the package was delivered.  Most of my orders are sent by Standard shipping, without any tracking, so I could not provide that information, so Paypal reimbursed the customer.  I lost 100$.  Since I am a small business owner, presently that is a lot, 10% of my monthly earnings.  So I cannot hold long if I have too many claims like that.  I talked to Canada Post and they did not want to offer any advice.  'Just go on the website, all the information is there'.  Since there are SO many online entrepreneurs in Canada out there, I wonder how they get to overcome this obstacle.  I cannot just offer tracking shipments, they are 3 times more expansive and I will lose a lot of customers. 

Please let me know if some of you want to share how you deal with this.  As I understand, anyone can buy something sent by standard using Canada Post, and you just need to say to Paypal or Visa that you did not receive your order, and BAM ! automatic refunded.  I know a lot people do not do this, but I am really discouraged how easy it is for a customer to win a claim and that Canada Post did not at least implement a system where we can print a note saying that a package with this address was well received at a Canada Post office and was really shipped to protect us. 

Solutions would be really grateful !

Thanks for your help !

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff (Retired)
Shopify Staff (Retired)
99 0 5

Hi Karine,

First of all, I'm sorry to hear you are having a difficult time with this. Unfortunately this is one of the downfalls of selling online.