Store Credit for a returned item

Highlighted
8 0 0

Hello,

Our return policy is store credit only, no refunds to CC or cash. For us, store credit is one of the most basic activities in the boutique. I am new to Shopify and could could not find anything in the knowledge base. Does it mean there is no store credit?

Many Thanks!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
3073 231 502

Hi @LiLi-5,

Nick here from Shopify. 

There is no store feature for credit in the store admin for giving store credit to customers, but I understand how having this feature available is important and can make certain of your business better. Because of that, I'm sending your feedback along to our responsible team as a feature request for the future. 

However, there are a few ways to work around this. Something to look into could be offering a free gift card with the amount of store credit you would like to give the customer. Gift cards are temporarily available to sell on all Shopify subscription plans because of recent events. Shopify has a YouTube tutorial going through how to offer gift cards which you can see below: 

This feature is only available for all plans temporarily. Because of that, it might be worth checking out some apps from the Shopify App Store which have this feature:

All the best, Nick

Nick | Community Moderator @ Shopify
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

0 Likes
Highlighted
8 0 0

Hi Nick,

Thank you for you reply and for sending this request.

I will have to use the gift card option as I have no choice.  

One question: if the customer return an item, can I use a Gift Card as my "payment method" or this is a two steps activity? (first return the item and than issue a gift card).  

The store credit is very different from a gift card as it should also: