Solved

shipping must include using paypal express

faceproject
Visitor
2 0 0

HI..
i'm new in spotify..
right now I try to open shop in shopify, and setting payment method with paypal express..
the problem is when customer buy something, they can buy the item without follow shipping step..
image.png

so the question how to disable pay button at the first step?

so buyer have to follow all step, and after all this, they pay with paypal button..

thanks in advance

Accepted Solution (1)
Nick
Shopify Staff (Retired)
4531 434 1024

This is an accepted solution.

No problem at all @faceproject.

PayPal wouldn't calculate the shipping cost, but the shipping settings from your admin would come into effect here yes. Here's how it would work:

The customer is taken to PayPal, where PayPal collects their shipping and billing addresses. After that, the shopper returns to Shopify where they pick a shipping rate and enter discount codes (if applicable). The price is updated accordingly and, on that same page, the customer gets to finalize their transaction.

Hopefully, that clears it up for you. 🙂

To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Community Blog.

View solution in original post

Replies 14 (14)

Nick
Shopify Staff (Retired)
4531 434 1024

Hi @faceproject,

Nick here from Shopify. 

Great question about this. It does seem like it might skip the entire shipping aspect of the process, but this is included when the customer goes to their PayPal profile. You can see an example of how it might look from the screenshot I took from a live store below:

15-11-2l3ny-i80i1

The idea of this PayPal checkout is that it's "Express" and has fewer steps for the customer which is what happens here. Because the customer's address is already in their PayPal account it takes this into consideration to make the checkout process shorter.