VUE.js working with NODE.js & Express API??

Shopify Partner
6 0 1

I am new to app development. I've been working with code for the last 15 years (html, php, etc)...

I am trying to create a basic app for reading and working with Shopify's API. I would like to create my own simple web forms for deleting products quickly and other simple tasks.

I discovered VUE.js and love it. I am able to take other non-protected APIs and display properties within the APP, but I can't figure out how to have an app written in VUS.js pull in my Shopify API data.

This morning I worked on a Shopify tutorial "Building a Shopify application with Node.js and Express" and got it running fine pulling up some of my dev store's API data. But I don't know NODE and not even sure if it's meant to be used as a frontend app- having the ability to create a web form to interact with Shopify's API. I really like the ease of VUE but not sure how to pull in Shopify's API so I can display properties and change data using the API.

MY QUESTION --> Can I have the frontend VUS.js app pull in the API and work with the data that the NODE app is able to pull (do I even need to run a NODE/express app and could everything be done with just JUE.js)? I am running both apps locally on different localhosts and there seems to be some issue with pulling in API data since they are running on different servers.

As I start down this path, does any recommend a learning path? Keep going with VUE.js? A combo of NODE & Express as the backend with VUE.js running the frontend with the two apps communicating between themselves?

Thanks for any direction.

1 Like
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
704 0 65

You should check this out: https://github.com/dmccuskey/shopify-modern

I'm a million different people
0 Likes
Shopify Partner
6 0 1