Best practices for paginating nested query results?

jeremywh
Tourist
4 0 3

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to GraphQL in general, and I'm looking for some guidance on how to paginate nested query results.  I've tried Googling around, but I guess haven't hit on the right combination of search terms yet as I haven't been able to find answers.

I was wondering how you handle queries that have nested lists that need to be paginated to get everything. By "how do you handle..?" I mean how do you keep track of the cursors and feed them to the "after" filter and ensure that you get the full set of records for an initial query?

I'm going to give a very simple example query, but I want to be clear that I'm not looking for ways to fix or improve this specific query. I'm looking more for high level concepts and best practices. I'm also not looking for new tools or libraries for sending queries to the server.  I'm just trying to understand this at the basic GraphQL query request level. 

Here's a simple orders/lineItems query, and I'm requesting the first 5 orders, and for each order I'm requesting the first 5 lines:

{
  orders(first: 5, query:"created_at:>=2020-09-14") {
    pageInfo {
      hasNextPage
    }
    edges {
      cursor
      node {
        id
        name
        lineItems (first: 5) {
          pageInfo {
            hasNextPage
          }
          edges {
            cursor
            node {
              sku
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

There is a potential here that all lists will need to be paginated to get the full set of results on each, and in this example, that would be 6 different lists: one for the top-level list of orders, and then each lineItems list in each order.

What is the best way to handle this?