Building a custom cart - Storefront API Vs Embedded app

danabdn
Shopify Partner
16 0 6

Hello,

I am new to Shopify but can cope with Angluar apps - in fact I have created an Angular 7 "tour event product" based cart creation app - so far it works really well.  I do however have custom logic depending on the needs of the customer i.e. anyone who needs to sit at the event will require two places (so I need access to query existing orders and amend product quantities - this is something I cannot do alone with Storefront API due to the authentication method i.e. there is none - other than a public key).

In order to query the orders (as there can only be one sitting place) and amend the products (amend the quantity since two places are taken up), I need to somehow query the Store database.

Question A - how can I access the database from StoreFront API?  I presume I cannot - therefore can a REST call be made from a private storefront app to an external endpoint (which can then do a OAuth REST API call) or will this cause cross domain scripting issues?

Question B - can an embedded app be used to create a custom storefront experience instead (placed into a Shopify page) whereby I might have access to the FULL API for creating a cart, order lookup, product amendment?

Note: I don't need the "tour booking calendar" on another website-  just inside the Shopify store.

Thanks for any assistance,

Dan.

Replies 14 (14)

Alex
Shopify Staff
1561 81 341

Hey @danabdn,

To answer your questions in order: