Building a custom website with Node and React

Solved
MoSwilam
1 0 0

Hello everyone, I am a Node.js Backend developer, my dev team and I are about to start building an e-commerce website to one of our clients, I am new to Shopify and e-commerce in general, and I would appreciate some help with the following concern.
the Ideal person to clarify my question is someone from Shopify dev team or someone with experience in building any kind of backend REST APIs or e-commerce based APIs.  

I read and actually followed the tutorial on how to build a "Shopify app" with React and Node on this link.
however, from the developer's perspective, I still have some questions and I would really appreciate it if someone could help point me in the right direction.

*  the tutorial specified certain development tools needed to build certain things and did not mention if I can use other tools or not. for example,  Koa as a Node.js framework, It was not mentioned if I can use Express which is a replacement for Koa, also there was nothing about whether Typescript is supported!, which Database technologies (SQL vs NoSQL), the use of ORMs.
* According to the tutorial, the server app or (Node.js) file/files were placed in the same directory with the frontend (React) app, and this raises big concerns about the application folder structure!
where should we put our database model definitions files, validation files, middleware and core business logic, etc..?
*  what exactly does it mean Shopify APP in this case? I want to build an e-commerce app and eventually host it online in one of the cloud platforms like AWS or google cloud storage am I thinking the right way about Shopify or is it some templating platform to build a plugin-like online store to show retailers products?
* do I need to conform to certain models when I think about defining database entities that will suit our client's needs?