Custom Integration Considerations for Shopify Stores & other Software

Solved
2 0 0

Hello Shopify community,

Let me preface this post with I AM NOT A DEVELOPER.

I'm in the process of scoping a Shopify build. Part of this build would include a custom integration between an industry specific accounting solution and their Shopify store. I've always heard Shopify is a little less friendly when it comes to custom dev work like this. If that's the case I'd like to know why that is the case or if I'm wrong, why I'm wrong. Some of my general questions include:

Do you have to code integrations for solutions like this in liquid versus other coding languages?

Am I correct in my understanding that as long as you're a partner you get access to the Shopify API?

What other considerations do I need to have with respects to building this integration with Shopify versus say Bigcommerce?

Thanks for the help!

0 Likes

Success.

Shopify Partner
1843 170 537

Hi and welcome to the community!

It is difficult to tell what kind of integration points you should use without knowing more about your requirements. I can however provide an overview of the typical integration points Shopify does provide, the developer experience, community support and such.

I've always heard Shopify is a little less friendly when it comes to custom dev work like this. If that's the case I'd like to know why that is the case or if I'm wrong, why I'm wrong.

I won't claim that Shopify's many ways to extend and build upon the platform are complete, bullet proof or most friendly in all cases. But my feeling is that Shopify and their ability to support developers via their many extension points for integration and customisation are well above the norm - in fact, I'd argue they're among the better ones in the industry. Why?