Error initializing App Bridge with React

kyle_truong
Shopify Partner
59 6 16

I just started learning about the AppBridge and wanted to give it a shot while developing the admin portion of my app using React and Polaris. Using create-react-app, I spin up my react app and I'm met with this error: 

Failed to execute 'postMessage' on 'DOMWindow': The target origin provided ('https://example-test-app.myshopify.com') does not match the recipient window's origin ('http://localhost:3000').

The only way I've found to bypass this is to build my react app after every change and have it served as static files through my node server, but builds this way take ~20 seconds compared to the ~1 second needed without making a full build. Is there any way around this so I can maintain create-react-app's faster hot-module reloading while making changes to files?

const appBridgeConfig = {
    apiKey: process.env.REACT_APP_SHOPIFY_API_KEY as string,
    shopOrigin: shopDomainName,
  };

return (
    <AppProvider i18n={{}}>
      <Provider config={appBridgeConfig}>
        <Page>
          <div className="animated fadeIn">
            <Dashboard />
          </div>
        </Page>
      </Provider>
    </AppProvider>
  );
};

// Dashboard.tsx
import { Context, Loading } from '@shopify/app-bridge-react';

export const Dashboard: React.SFC<DashboardProps> = () => {
  return (
    <Context.Consumer>
      {app => {
        console.log('app: ', app);
        console.log(
          'appstate: ',
          app?.getState().then(res => {
            console.log('res: ', res);
          }),
        );
        return (
          <div>
            <Loading />
            <div>testing</div>
          </div>
        );
      }}
    </Context.Consumer>
  );
};

Replies 8 (8)

kyle_truong
Shopify Partner
59 6 16

hannachen
Shopify Staff
54 8 17

Hi Kyle,